Peters’ recommended reads – May

rr578x279web
May 16th, 2019

Our team of librarians at Peters read and review every children’s and young adult book we stock in our showroom, and we’re always on the lookout for the best and most exciting new titles. Here are some of our May favourites, from non-fiction to YA!

Junior Fiction

9781786540591

Elly Griffiths

A Girl Called Justice

£ 6.99

A thoroughly entertaining murder mystery with deft touches of humour & plenty of intrigue. Griffiths makes the switch to writing for children look effortless & Justice herself is a singular & appealing heroine. Great stuff for young sleuthing fans.

 

9781788950329

Sharon Gosling

The Golden Butterfly

£ 6.99

A well-paced mystery that draws you in straight away, with a plucky heroine who effectively challenges the prejudices of the age. A great read for boys & girls – good stuff.

 

9781788004503

Catherine Bruton

No Ballet Shoes in Syria

£ 6.99

A well written poignant and emotional roller coaster of a story with characters you can relate to and root for. An excellent read and a must have for UKS2/KS3 collections. Great for empathy selections too!

 

9781471160646

Sarah Carroll

The Words That Fly Between Us

£ 6.99

A moving book that confronts a range of issues and has some genuine moments of real tension. Characters do seem to act older than they are and some scenarios aren’t very relatable but the overall premise is. Worth having though.

 

9781788002868

Cath Howe

Not My Fault

£ 6.99

Well characterised and engrossing family drama, useful as an entertaining read or to lead discussion on healthy relationships. Good, worth promoting to fans of Wilson, Cassidy and similar.

 

9780008308391

Dominique Valente

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

£ 12.99

Richly imagined setting with quirky appealing characters and the writing is excellent. Well worth having.

 

9781910646489

Bren MacDribble

The Dog Runner

£ 6.99

A good adventure that cracks along at a decent pace. Has a plausable ecological senario which doesn’t seem a far-off possibility. A decent read for UKS2/LKS3.

 

Teen Fiction

9781405293181

Holly Jackson

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder

£ 7.99

Meaty murder mystery that keeps the reader guessing right to the very twisty end. Protagonist is funny, tenacious & entirely believable. A terrific debut with stacks of teen appeal.

 

9781408890219

William Sutcliffe

The Gifted, the Talented and Me

£ 7.99

Slow to start, but it develops into an amusing tale of teenage woes with a likeable protagonist. Fans of Joe Cowley & Adrian Mole will enjoy.

 

9781471179990

T E Carter

All We Could Have Been

£ 7.99

A compelling read that cleverly manages the slow reveal whilst capturing the angst of high school life and trying to find who you really are. The end third could have been tighter but worth trying for more mature readers.

 

9780008291846

Natalia Gomes

We Are Not Okay

£ 7.99

Does perhaps cram in a few too many ‘issues’ but actually characters’ voices do ring true & it quickly becomes an engaging & emotional tale.

 

Picture books

9781783708703

Bethany Christou

Slow Samson

£ 6.99

Very endearing character in a jolly, sweet tale. Nothing earth shattering just a well illustrated story with a nice message. Definitely worth a few.

Educate your inbox. Sign up for all of our exclusive offers and news.

Sign me up