Sorry, but you already have a basket with that name. Please use something else.

A kind of spark

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781913311056

Publication Date: 4 Jun 2020

Subject: Children's novels

Suitable for: Primary (Year 5, Year 6, Year 7)

AR: 4.3 MY

to view theme keywords.
A young girl campaigns for historic wrongs to be righted, whilst also dealing with her autism.

£5.17

RRP £6.99 Save 26%

Quantity 

ADD TO BASKET

Add to wishlist

to view our ratings for this title.
  • Our review
  • Details
  • Levelling information
Notes
to view our full review.

Summary

A young girl campaigns for historic wrongs to be righted, whilst also dealing with her autism.

A kind of spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there's more to the story of these 'witches', just like there is more to hers. Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and her autism, and make her voice heard?

A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy.

NOTE: Blue Peter Book Awards Winner 2021
Empathy Lab 2021 - Primary List
Branford Boase Shortlist 2021
Waterstones Children's Book Prize Shortlist 2021 - Young Readers

Book of the week

Drawing parallels between the outsider status of a young girl with autism and that of women accused of witchcraft centuries before, this novel centres on 11-year-old Addie and her fight for historical wrongs to be recognised. The author herself has autism and this is a sensitive portrayal of those living with the condition. The prejudice Addie faces is mirrored by the 'witches' she seeks justice for, and the debate around statues and memorials is very timely given recent events. Overall a moving and enjoyable read.

Awards
  • Winner - Waterstones Children's Book Prize (Younger fiction) 2021
  • Winner - Blue Peter Book Awards (Best story) 2021
  • Shortlisted - Branford Boase Award 2021
  • Shortlisted - Books Are My Bag Readers Award (Children's Fiction) 2020
Category
JF
Subject
Children's novels
Reading age
to view reading age.
Interest level
to view interest age.
Illustrations
None
Publisher
Pub. date
4 Jun 2020
Edition
Original
ISBN
9781913311056
BIC code
Binding
Paperback
Pages
192
Width
129mm
Height
198mm
Weight
200g
VAT-able amount
0%
to view levelling information.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

More Info