Sorry, but you already have a basket with that name. Please use something else.

The poet X

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781405291460

Publication Date: 23 Apr 2018

Subject: Older teen novels

Suitable for: Secondary (Year 10, Year 11)

AR: 5.2 UY

to view theme keywords.
A teenage girl uses poetry to write about her life growing up in a poor area of Harlem.

£6.65

RRP £8.99 Save 26%

Quantity 

ADD TO BASKET

Add to wishlist

to view our ratings for this title.
  • Our review
  • Details
  • Levelling information
Notes
to view our full review.

Summary

A teenage girl uses poetry to write about her life growing up in a poor area of Harlem.

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets. Her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written, this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie.

NOTE: Contains sexual references, drug references and violence.
NOTE: Waterstones Children's Book Prize Shortlist 2019
NOTE: Carnegie Medal Winner 2019
NOTE: UKLA Book Award Shortlist 2019

Book of the week

Striking coming of age story with strong, compelling characters & a vivid sense of place. Verse format is clever but accessible. Ending feels a little neat but overall it's an engaging, memorable read.

Awards
  • Winner - Carnegie Medal 2019
  • Shortlisted - UKLA Book Awards (Ages 12 - 16) 2019
  • Shortlisted - Waterstones Children's Book Prize (Older fiction) 2019
Category
TF
Subject
Older teen novels
Reading age
to view reading age.
Interest level
to view interest age.
Illustrations
None
Publisher
Pub. date
23 Apr 2018
Edition
Original
ISBN
9781405291460
BIC code
Binding
Paperback
Pages
358
Width
129mm
Height
198mm
Weight
348g
VAT-able amount
0%
Product dimensions
A3
A4

129mm x 198mm

to view levelling information.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

More Info