Sorry, but you already have a basket with that name. Please use something else.

Salt to the sea

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141347400

Publication Date: 4 Feb 2016

Subject: Younger teen novels

Suitable for: Secondary (Year 7, Year 8, Year 9)

AR: 4.5 UY

to view theme keywords.
Set during the end of World War 2, a group of refugees escape Germany by ship

£5.91

RRP £7.99 Save 26%

Quantity 

ADD TO BASKET

Add to wishlist

to view our ratings for this title.
  • Our review
  • Details
  • Levelling information
Notes
to view our full review.

Summary

Set during the end of World War 2, a group of refugees escape Germany by ship

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.

Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories.

This novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned.

Fans of "The Book Thief" or Helen Dunmore's "The Siege" will be totally absorbed.

NOTE : Some graphic descriptions of dead bodies, injuries and disturbing incidents in the wartime context.

NOTE: Carnegie Medal Winner 2017

Awards
  • Winner - Carnegie Medal 2017
Category
TF
Subject
Younger teen novels
Reading age
to view reading age.
Interest level
to view interest age.
Illustrations
None
Publisher
Pub. date
4 Feb 2016
Edition
Original
ISBN
9780141347400
BIC code
Binding
Paperback
Pages
394
Width
128mm
Height
197mm
Weight
298g
VAT-able amount
0%
Product dimensions
A3
A4

128mm x 197mm

to view levelling information.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

More Info